Countdown

by Danica

Three has this ‘Planet 3’ mobile web thing that you check from your phone, and a particular section of it allows you to check how much of your cap you’ve already spent. I went to go check it, to see how much of my cap was now gone due to the amount of text messages I’d sent today. The ad at the top of this page advertises the free Facebook access that members of 3 have, which lasts until the end of September. When I signed in to Planet 3, this is what I saw:

There's no way to do a screenshot on my phone. I had to stick it in front of my webcam.

Now, as you might know, I haven’t been on Facebook in a while. So, obviously, the ad doesn’t appeal to me. It isn’t relevant. But what was relevant was the number ’20’.

No, it has nothing to do with the fact that I’m turning 20 soon. Actually, I’m referring to the fact that there are members of 3 who got addicted to Facebook because of 3’s “Free Facebook” promotion which was originally meant to end on August 31st. And these same people, when they discovered that the promotion got extended to September 30, obviously took advantage of it. Why? ‘Cause they don’t want to pay an extra $5 a month to have internet access on their phones.

So now, these people are all sitting, standing, pooping, or walking with their eyes glued to their phone thinking I better make the most of this free Facebook access on my mobile! because they only have 20 days left till it’s no longer free (or so we think). They’re all anxious and biting their nails, ’cause in 20 days, they’ll be forced to actually talk to people face to face, instead of commenting on the Facebook status of the person sitting across the room from them.

I, however, am not at all worried about the free-access-to-Facebook-promotion ending. Seeing “20 days to go” actually made me think of SOS camp.

How long do we have till camp begins? 22 days! While Facebook addicts are dreading the end of the promotion, I’m anticipating it! Because 2 days later, camp begins! I’m nervous because I’ll be graduating, and I need to use these 22 days wisely. I need to study my notes (and apply what I learnt) and spend time with my Teacher. But I’m also excited ’cause it’s my graduation, and it means that when I come out on the other side, I’ll be exposed to the real world.

Let’s face it, I’m already facing the ‘real world’ now. Every day at uni, I’m faced with people on their smoke breaks who congregate right outside the library doors; people who cuss unnecessarily in every sentence (cussing is completely unnecessary, but have you met people who talk like “F that Sh brah, that assignment was so F’d, I didn’t know what the F I was talking about, so I was like, F that man, I ain’t doin’ this Sh no more, so I just typed up some F’in Sh”); people who complain about how crap their job is while I’m praying and searching for any employer that’ll hire me; people who put work before their studies so that they’ll have money to go clubbing on the weekend while I’m only getting enough allowance to cover bus and train fare; people who put work before studies and still get better marks than me; people who think church is irrelevant; people who think God doesn’t exist… I think you get it.

I am excited excited excited for SOS. I have a feeling — actually, I know that God’s going to hit me really hard during those 4 days, because of the times I slacked off in my fast, and the times I neglected to Eat and spend time with Him; and I know I’m going to learn a lot at camp from all the teachings and from all the experiences. I’m just really, really looking forward to it.

Enough blogging for now. Time to go Study.

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney