45 Day Fast

by Danica

Associating the number 45 with fasting sounds ridiculous, but who said extending a 40 day fast was wrong?

In the Bible, the number 40 is repeated a whole lot, but it is my understanding that in the Hebrew culture, 40 was not always to be considered a literal measurement of time. I remember someone explaining it to me [and a large congregation of people] in a way similar to the way I will explain now:

As I’m typing this post, it is Saturday the 16th of August, 2009. Forty days ago, it was Tuesday the 7th of July, 2009. I have no idea what happened on that day. If something significant happened on that day, maybe, but as far as I can recall, it was an ordinary day that I most likely spent sleeping in and pigging out on food. I more than likely also watched an episode of Talkin’ ‘Bout Your Generation that night.

It was the middle of November last year 40 weeks ago. I guess I was finishing up my Diploma of Business Management course at TAFE (ugh, I’m glad TAFE is over). It’s now my second [long] semester at UWS, and it doesn’t feel like I went to TAFE just last year.

Forty months ago was April 2006. At that time, I was in Year 11, still new to Penrith Christian Community School. Before the end of the year, the school board removed “community” from the school’s name, and they also promoted the new uniform. Since April of 2006, the current Year 12 class (grade above me) graduated, my grade graduated, and my brother’s grade (the grade below) graduated. April 2006 feels like a really, really long time ago.

Campbells_Soup_CansThe Beatles, Muhammed Ali, Julie Andrews, and Martin Luther King, Jr. were just some of the people who made the 60s a memorable decade. Andy Warhol’s Campbell’s Soup Can and the high-riding bell bottoms were at their peak 40 years ago, and people in my generation will definitely never really understand what is so artistic about a bunch o’ cans. Forty years ago, my parents were still kids. I think it’s pretty obvious that 40 years ago was a really, really long time ago.

The Hebrews didn’t use the number 40 as an accurate measurement of time, because 40 basically meant “a really long time ago.” You can’t really remember what happened 40 days, weeks, months or years ago. The span of time just feels as if it has been going on forever.

Why am I talking about the number 40? Why indeed.

The GFRESH leaders, connect leaders and worship team will be taking part in a 40 day fast in preparation for SOS 09, the Generation Fresh youth camp. Corporately, we will be fasting television, secular music and Facebook. In addition to that, we will each be fasting anything else that will or may hinder us or distract us from getting ready for SOS.

So, where do I come into all of this?

Being a part of the worship team, I’ll have to participate in this fast. I do believe that fasting those 3 things will definitely help to keep me on the track and keep my eyes on the goal, so from 12 AM on Saturday the 22nd of August, I will no longer watch TV, no longer listen to 90% of the music that my ears encounter daily (listening, as in, actively listening), and no longer log in to Facebook. Our fast is meant to last 40 days, which means day 40 is September 30th – a Wednesday. SOS will be from October 2-5 (Friday to Monday), which means that someone miscounted, because the last day of the fast was supposed to be the Thursday before SOS begins.

Even so, it seems a bit ridiculous to fast something as part of my SOS preparation and end it before camp, so I’m going to give myself a personal extension until after SOS ends, hence, my 45 day fast.

Today, I was told that we aren’t supposed to tell people what we will be fasting in addition to TV, secular music and Facebook, but I had already told my sister (and she forgot), and seeing as this is my blog, my [few] readers will get to know what they are: Twitter, YouTube, webcomics, [certain] emails and MSN.

no-facebookIf you follow me on Twitter, then you definitely know how often I update that thing. Well, it’s going to be update-less for a long time. I have an account on YouTube and I’m subscribed to quite a number of channels. Nearly every day, someone has uploaded a new video, and I feel obligated to watch it. I’m going to sign out of that account and refrain from going to http://www.youtube.com for a long time.

I also read a helluva lot of webcomics. A lot of them update daily, so you can only imagine how much time I waste each day catching up on the humor, drama and various storylines. I guess what I’m going to have to do is disable RSS updates in Safari so that it doesn’t tell me someone’s posted a new comic. Whenever my RSS subscriptions have any number of updates, I immediately think, “I have to make that number go away!” and after a week of fasting, those numbers are going to drive me insane, so I will have to disable it.

I get a lot of emails from Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, MySpace, and the various mailing lists I’m subscribed to. Won’t be reading them for a long time. My inbox is gonna go crazy. The only emails I’ll be reading will be school related, church related, job application related, to-my-blog related, and emails from friends/family. The number of those emails combined aren’t a lot, by the way. No one emails me :C

And lastly, MSN. No one talks to me there either. I got addicted to the damn thing ’cause of a stupid boy – always bein’ online to talk to him and crap – and it’s just become a habit to sign in to it every day, all day. Other than that one person, there aren’t a lot of people that I will talk to on MSN. Since I don’t need it anyway, MSN will be a no-no for me until after SOS. If you want to contact me via MSN, don’t. You can email me or better yet, call or text me! I have a phone that doesn’t get used for anything except waking me up in the morning, and keeping me sane in the car (music, which will have to be updated now).

I’m slightly freaked out about TV ’cause I won’t get to watch TAYG1 and Rove anymore, and Rove just came back from a month-long break tonight! (last night, now – it’s almost 1 AM >_<) I'll definitely be missing my Boys2 ’cause their music is classified as secular, and, Facebook… meh. I only use it ’cause it’s so easy (compared to MySpace, which I actually like better anyway), and ’cause everyone’s there now. No one even considers any other social networking site. Some people think I’m addicted to Facebook. I’m not. I know when to log off that thing, and I already know how much of a waste of time it is.

Anyway, I will definitely not be fasting posting blogs. I need an outlet – that’s what I created my blog for. Speaking of outlets, remember that blog I promised 2 weeks ago now? I’ll try finish that in the morning. I R tired and, well, I said it was close to 1 AM.

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney

– –

 
1 TAYG is what Shaun Micallef used to refer to Talkin’ ‘Bout Your Generation. It’d be ridiculous to refer to it as TBYG ’cause you can’t pronounce that as a word.
2 Backstreet Boys ❤

 

