Oliver James played me!

by Danica

When I was about 13 or 14 I watched the movie What A Girl Wants (2003) starring Amanda Bynes and Colin Firth. Bynes’ character travels to London to find her long lost father (Firth) and in the process meets and falls in love with a boy named Ian, played by Oliver James.

At that time, Oliver James was the typical cute boy that every girl my age would’ve had a crush on. He was British and therefore had a British accent, was a talented musician, and almost always played a sweet and charming guy.

There’s a scene in the movie that used to always make me get kiligs. (The English translation of this Tagalog word is hoity-toity, according to Google Translate, which is a fair attempt at translating a word that even Filipinos can’t really explain.) James and Bynes are lying down in a small boat just chatting away and Bynes is pouring out her heart to him, and she says something along the lines of, “I just want to fit in.” And James responds, “Why are you trying so hard to fit in when you were born to stand out?” And if I remember correctly, all the girls in the room squealed. And then the coupled kissed and we all squealed some more.

You can see parts of the boat scene in the trailer below. The above line by James can be found at 1:33.

In mid-August last year (about a month before I turned 23), during one of my routine Facebook Newsfeed scroll-thrus, I came across a photo that someone had liked:

Screen shot 2012-11-08 at 5.23.47 PM

Oliver James quoted Dr Seuss to solicit a kiss from a girl >_>

rightintheadolescence

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney