Here comes the sun

by Danica

Here are some photos of the sun that I’ve taken over the past several weeks that I’ve been meaning to post up.

gap in the clouds

I was in the library at uni one day doing some research and downloading some updates (taking advantage of the faster-than-at-home wi-fi :P). I can’t remember if I stood up and looked out or if I looked up at the window that was sort of hiding behind the top of the desk I was working at. But I looked out and saw this amazing image of the sun’s rays emerging from a gap in the clouds. It had been really cloudy in the recent days/weeks (it was usually forecasted to rain), and to see just a bit of sunshine brought joy to whoever saw it. I know I sound really cheesy right now, but it’s the truth. Taken with my brand new iPhone 4S, September 17 2012, 5:33PM.

good morning starshine

One morning instead of going back to sleep after dropping off my mum at the station, I decided to roll up the shutters on my window and just chill in my bed (I didn’t sleep :P). The sun had risen (it was about 8:30AM) but it was still making it’s way up the sky. Soon enough sunlight was pouring in through my window and flooding my room. From my horizontal position on my bed, I snapped this photo. Taken with my phone, October 10 2012, 8:59AM.

I went to the library one afternoon and parked in a different parking lot from where I usually park. The main parking lot on campus is downhill from and east of the library. But I found a spot closer to the library that required me to walk up a steeper but smaller hill. This parking lot was west of the library. When walking back to my car later, the sun was setting and was completely in my face. It was totally asking for a photo. Taken with my phone, October 15 2012, 6:03PM.

Yesterday I was in the library again. Because of daylight savings the sun’s in the sky much later so even though I left the library around 6PM, the sun was still high. Before I left, though, I found a massive window that overlooked the campus. I took three immediately consecutive shots and combined them into one. I got different amounts of light by focusing on different parts of the photo. I don’t remember anymore how I got each one, but that doesn’t matter. (Here are links to each individual photo: left, middle, right.) Taken with my phone, October 22 2012, 5:36PM.

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney