What a beautiful God

by Danica

I had my iTunes playing on random (“shuffle”, if you wanna be accurate), and a song by one of my favourite artists came on.

Beautiful – Shawn McDonald

As I look into the stars
I’m pondering how far away they are
How You hold them in Your hands
And still You know this man
You know my innermost being, oh
Even better than I know, than I know myself
What a beautiful God
What a beautiful God

And what am I, that I might be called Your child
What am I, what am I
That You might know me, my King
What am I, what am I, what am I

As I look off into the distance
Watching the sun roll on by
Beautiful colours all around me, oh
Painted all over the sky
The same Hands that created all of this
They created you and I
What a beautiful God
What a beautiful God

And what am I, that I might be called Your child
What am I, what am I
That You might know me, my King
What am I, what am I
That You might die that I might live
What am I, what am I, what am I, what am I

It’s been so long since I listened to this song, and I do absolutely love the lyrics. But tonight, one particular lyric stuck out to me:

The same Hands that created all of this / They created you and I

Do you ever stop to admire the [natural] scenery and find your mouth gaping in awe? And how much more amazing is the thought that what you’re admiring was created by Someone that created YOU! And He wasn’t sloppy about it either. Did you know that no two sunsets are the same? And Psalm 139 talks about how well God knows us: “You know when I sit and when I rise, you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways … For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. …I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” This same God that was able to create millions and millions of sunrises and have not a single one repeat knows every detail about you! That blows me away.

So I’ve decided to create, yet again, another post category (as if I don’t have enough already) which will contain posts with my own photos of God’s beautiful creation. I’ll call it “What a beautiful God“. Click on the link to view what I’ve got there so far! (Don’t worry, it won’t revert you to this post.)

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney

 

