One year

by Danica

This morning I had to go to the RTA to renew my car’s registration, and it occurred to me that I’ve already had my car for a year. A year.

February 1st, 2011

Cherry Bomb aka Reddy

Those who’ve been following my blog for a while might recognise the above photo. It was my Project 365 photo from February 1st last year, the day I got my car. So much has happened between now and then with regards to my car and yet it feels like I only got it a few months ago. Some people reckon it still has its new car smell.

In the past 12 months my car’s driven at least 20,000* km and has been serviced three times (the routine 1,000 km, 10,000 km and 20,000 km check-ups). It hasn’t yet driven to the beach or to the mountains, but it’s been pretty much all over Sydney, from the city to Penrith, up and down the Great Western Highway and the M4, and it took me to my very first concert. I also had my first car accident which resulted in my car having to be taken away for repairs for two weeks while I drove a Falcon. During these two weeks I managed to get a parking ticket at uni. I forgot to retrieve my parking sticker so I placed the invoice on my dashboard which is only allowed for 10 days after purchasing the sticker. Luckily there was no payment code on the ticket, so I guess I couldn’t really pay it off. But sshhh, don’t tell anyone!

Anyway, I guess I should celebrate my car’s birthday somehow. Car’s don’t like cake, do they?

Welp, back to cleaning my room I go.

Update 01.02.2012: My bad, my car’s only driven over 16,000 km. It just so happens that when my car got serviced recently, it had reached the date for the 20,000 km check-up before it had actually driven 20,000 km.

 
– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney