Out of Me

by Danica

I have a whole pile of papers and unopened envelopes that I’ve been meaning to go through for a while and I finally got to them today. I found some index cards on which I wrote quotes in my TB (teeny-bopper) days that I really liked. Silly me didn’t write down who said some of the quotes or where I got them from. Nonetheless, I’ll share them here. (If you know where any of these quotes are from or who said them, I’d really appreciate it if you could let me know.)

“Things generally work out for the best for those who make the best out of the way things work out.”

“Even a mistake may turn out to be the one thing necessary to a worthwhile achievement.”

“One joy scatters a thousand griefs.”

“The crime is not to avoid failure. The crime is not to give triumph a chance.”

“Do not wish to be anything but what you are, and try to be that perfectly.”

“Life life to the fullest for the future is scarce.” – Nick Carter, in his “thank yous” in the Backstreet Boy album Millenium

“Victory is what happens when ten thousand hours of preparation meet with one moment of opportunity.”

“Don’t write a check with your mouth that your body can’t cash.”1

In the Old Testament, the Hebrew word for ‘kiss’ (nashaq) is derived from the primary root word meaning ‘to kindle’. I don’t want to open the matchbox. “Why pre-heat the oven when you can’t cook the roast?” 2

Then on one of these index cards I wrote the lyrics to a Planetshakers song called Out of Me3, which became my ‘anthem’ at the time ’cause I was a really quiet person (there’s more to it than just being quiet, but I’m not gonna go into my life story right now).

I’ve been quiet for way too long
It’s time to make a sound
It’s time to let it all out
In my heart is a rising song
A song of victory
Of all You’ve done for me

What can I say?
You blow me away

Throwing off restraint I praise You recklessly
‘Cause I want the world to see
I want the world to see Your glory
Fill me up so much that You bust out of me
‘Cause I want the world to see
I want the world to see Your glory

I guess this song could still be my ‘anthem’ now. I’m not as loud as I know I could be. I still think there’s a lot that God could draw out of me that He could use for his glory, so that the world could see His glory.

 
1 Possibly from one of Joshua Harris’ first two books, I Kissed Dating Goodbye or Boy Meets Girl.
2 Also possibly from one of Joshua Harris’ first two books.
3 Here’s a YouTube link to the song if you wanna hear it. It’s pretty cool.

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney