Book: Two Thousand and Eleven. Chapter: January

by Danica

See all of the “chapters” from 2011 here.

 
January has ended and I realised that I have not yet written a blog post this year. So I decided that even though my Project 365 isn’t meant for the public, I’d like to share some of the highlights of the past month.

January 1st, 2011For the past several years, my family has spent New Years Eve at the house of our Senior Pastor and his family. So I decided that Photo #1 would be of the TV while the fireworks were going off at Sydney Harbour. I didn’t know that you needed to take a photo to open the film cartridge on a polaroid camera, so I sat there watching the TV waiting for the best moment to take a photo. When I found the perfect moment, I pressed the shutter button, and gasped as I realised that the “photo” coming out of the camera wasn’t even a photo. I positioned myself for the next good scene of fireworks, only to find that the fireworks had ended. So now that my film cartridge was opened, I had to settle for a photo of myself with sparklers.

January 4th, 2011January 6th, 2011

The whole first week of January, from Sunday afternoon to Friday afternoon, was spent preparing for the launch of Generation FRESH, the youth ministry/movement that I’m proud to be a part of. We launched the theme for the year – Propel -, which is about sending us out to the mission field by getting off the boat that we are currently on. Most of the preparation documented in my photos for these several days involved decorating the church to resemble the inside of a ship. We had a propeller (placed inside the ‘ship’, so that people would be able to see it), an anchor, inflatable lifeboats and even a steering wheel. The helicopter was added because it requires a propeller to fly.

January 13th, 2011My connect group was placed in charge of setup for the first Area Of Focus (AOF) night of the year. Our point person, Ate Cathy, decided we would create a map of the world, with tracks leading to and from each continent to symbolise our being sent out to other nations on missions. I had the privilege of making the continent of Africa. I didn’t copy the coastlines accurately, but only drew the rough shape, and as I was cutting it out I felt ashamed that my continent had curved coastlines because everyone else’s continents would have jagged ones. But in the end, Africa turned out to have the most jagged coastlines, compared to the other continents.

January 14th, 2011The plan was to have our world map as accurate as possible, with continents joining where they needed to. But because we had different people working on each continent, Asia turned out unusually large, and South America, small. So we had to split the continents from each other.

Cat delivered an amazing teaching about 2011 being the time to [get out and] move. “The time of focusing in-house has come to an end.” She told us to not be satisfied or content with our current position, but to move and make our mark.

January 20th, 2011On the 20th I received a letter that I had been anticipating for about a month and a half. It was a letter from the Universities Admissions Centre (UAC) notifying me of any offers for university. And behold, I got one! And in the course that I wanted, too. So for the next 3 years (and hopefully, no more than that), I’ll be studying a Bachelor of Music so that I can one day begin a career as a music teacher. The photo, however, has nothing to do with my studying, except that after the mail came around 2PM, I spent the rest of the afternoon and evening accepting my offer, enrolling in my classes and deciding what kind of timetable I wanted.

January 25th, 2011Jomee, Kuya Don and I went to Mt Druitt Hoyts to watch Tangled. We enjoyed it so much and we even shed tears (some more than others :P). This was also my first time to go to Mt Druitt Hoyts in a long time. The last time I went there was probably 5 or 6 years ago, yet it’s the closest movie theatre to my house.

January 31st, 2011We said goodbye to the car that our family has owned for as long as I can remember. It’s a ’93 or ’94 Toyota Camry, affectionately known as Whitey. (We also own a gold 2004 Toyota Camry Sportivo, which my parents named Goldie, or Tivo for short (pronounced “Ti-bo” because of my parents’ Filipino accent.)) We’ve had it for so long that I don’t have any recollection of our car before it, except that it was a Mitsubishi Sigma. So, when my dad got home from work yesterday, he cleaned the car, inside and out, so that the person buying the car from us would have a clean vehicle. I’ve been driving this car for the past 2 years, which is long for me since I’ve only been driving for 2 years.

 

January birthdays

January 8th, 2011January 23rd, 2011January 29th, 2011

We celebrated the 24th birthday of our Raise overseer, Cat, with a big Raise hangout at Ate Cathy and Ate Joy’s house. We went to Freshwater Beach to celebrate the 20th birthday of Denise, also one of my fellow connect girls. And James “Chunky”, who is actually a February celebrant, had a big BBQ at Bicentennial Park to celebrate his turning 21. (There were actually a lot more birthdays this month, but unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to celebrate with all of them.)

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney