Narnia enthusiast

by Danica

My excitement and anticipation for the cinema release of the new Narnia movie in 2 weeks made me want to watch both the already-released movies today. But I was a bit hesitant to watch Prince Caspian because they changed and/or excluded so many things from the book. Anyway, I watched them both, and it was only halfway through Prince Caspian that I started to feel tired from having been on my feet for several hours while I did the ironing.

I remember watching a BBC production of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe in primary school, and I remember it mimicking the book really closely. To my knowledge, they did more than just the one movie, so I went on a Google-hunt to find out whether it was available for sale anywhere so that I could buy it.

Here it is:

 
I’d really like to buy the 3-disc set, but further research showed me that it was a series made for TV from only 4 of the 7 books (The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Prince Caspian, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader and The Silver Chair). Disappointment. Though, story-wise, they’d be closer to the books than what Hollywood would ever be. I’d kinda like to watch the BBC’s 1989 adaptation of Prince Caspian and compare it to the 2008 adaptation by Disney and Walden Media.

Browsing through the Google search results unveiled my eyes to a terrifying truth: the current movie series will cover only FIVE books! This article was written before the first movie came out (5 years ago), so the 5-movie thing may not be true anymore. But to make a popular movie series out of a series of 7 books and cut out 2 of them would do the Chronicles an injustice!

Anyway, I’d like to end with I don’t want to buy the 3-disc set. According to Wikipedia;

The series was originally aired with The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe consisting of 6 episodes (1988), Prince Caspian with 2 episodes (1989), The Voyage of the Dawn Treader with 4 episodes (1989) and The Silver Chair with 6 episodes (1990).

The four miniseries were later edited into three feature-length films (combining “Prince Caspian” and “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader”) and released on DVD.

Why on earth would you condense Prince Caspian to TWO episodes?! And Voyage of the Dawn Treader to FOUR? Reading those books take just as long to read as The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and The Silver Chair. What. Just what.

My inner Narnia geek is annoyed.

Update 26.12.2010: My brother got me the box set for Christmas, as well as a documentary on the symbolisms of Narnia, titled The Narnia Code. :B

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney