‘Artist’s impossible pictures a big hit’

by Danica

I was going through some of the links I had bookmarked in Chrome*, and I came across this ninemsn photo gallery featuring some amazing artwork.

path
A country path appears to morph into fabric in this piece. (www.alltelleringet.com)

 
iron
A man irons his clothes – while wearing them at the same time. (www.alltelleringet.com)

 
frame
A waterside painting gushes liquid over a surprised art lover. (www.alltelleringet.com)

 
road
Roadworks suddenly become a giant game of noughts and crosses. (www.alltelleringet.com)

 
vase
A clumsy man’s hands smash into pieces – while the vase survives. (www.alltelleringet.com)

 
punch
Another man’s face crumples like a pillow after taking a punch. (www.alltelleringet.com)

 
When I first came across these photos on ninemsn, their style looked so familiar, and I was sure I had seen something similar or exactly the same on deviantART. So when I rediscovered the link in my Chrome bookmarks today, I decided to search through my favourites on dA to find the deviation that resembled the photos in the ninemsn gallery.

Several pages of favourites later, I found it:


Vertical turn

 
Turns out they’re all by the same artist. The world wide web doesn’t seem so wide now.

The guy who shoots and digitally manipulates these photos is a Swedish artist named Erik Johansson. If you decide to have a look through his dA gallery, also have a read of the description below each individual photo. The stories behind some of those artworks are interesting. For example, Vertical turn is “made out of 3 different photos taken from 3 different heights”. Heaven Express is made from photos taken six months apart. Planet Sweden, which you should definitely go have a look at, is made up of 24 panoramic images.

Here are a few others from his gallery that I especially like:

fishy_island_by_alltelleringet
Fishy island

 
melting_point_by_alltelleringet
Melting point

 
843891240fffed5e79ec5e101c270e4d
Reflective cubes

5774a62ae2a3c8af27436c59dfa5761f
Kaffeslump

54c829a9d99ae707b06cf14076a89bca
anlagd oversvamning

 
aa38851eb892de663ab3213e877f97ef
Work on the sea

 
Hands_on_by_alltelleringet
Hands-on

 
There’s plenty more on his site that aren’t on dA. Go have a look.

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney

– –

* If I bookmark something in Chrome, it means I enjoyed what I saw, and it’s actually worth having a look at again. If I bookmark it in any other web browser, I intend to have a look at it later, but I usually don’t. Not that any of that matters to anyone.