I’ve always thought Ursula was one of those ‘evil’ names, like Lucifer

by Danica

I just watched The Little Mermaid for the first time EVER. I just found out from IMDb that the movie was released in the US the year I was born, so that movie’s been out as long as I’ve been alive, and I’d never seen it till today.

It’s the first movie that I’ve been able to cross off a long list of Disney movies that I never got to watch as kid. It wasn’t that great. It was just like another movie to me. But then again, I’m a 20 year old watching a children’s movie for the first time. I guess if I had enjoyed that movie as a 6 year old, it would’ve been more fun for me now.

I thought there might be a list of the animated Disney movies on Wikipedia, and lo and behold, there is! So I’m gonna list those movies and cross ’em off as I watch ’em (I’ve never heard of some a lot of these, by the way):

  • Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs – have it on VHS
  • Pinocchio – have it on VHS
  • Fantasia
  • Dumbo
  • Bambi – 03.02.2010
  • Saludos Amigos
  • The Three Caballeros
  • Make Mine Music
  • Fun and Fancy Free
  • Melody Time
  • The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr Toad
  • Cinderella
  • Alice in Wonderland
  • Peter Pan
  • Lady and the Tramp – Feb 2010
  • Sleeping Beauty
  • One Hundred and One Dalmatians – I’ve only seen the real people one; the one that has the same actor from Dumb and Dumber
  • The Sword in the Stone
  • The Jungle Book – Feb 2010
  • The Aristocats
  • Robin Hood
  • The Many Adventures of Winnie The Pooh
  • The Rescuers
  • The Fox and the Hound
  • The Black Cauldron
  • The Great Mouse Detective – Feb 2010
  • Oliver & Company
  • The Little Mermaid – 17.12.09
  • The Rescuers Down Under
  • Beauty and the Beast – 24.01.2010
  • Aladdin – have it on VHS; it was the first non-clothing, non-toy present I remember receiving
  • The Lion King – the GREATEST Disney movie of all time, but I may be biased. Definitely have that one on VHS
  • Pocahontas – have it on VHS
  • Hunchback of Notre Dame – I’ve seen it but I don’t remember most of it
  • Hercules – I love this movie. We’ve got it on DVD.
  • Mulan –❤
  • TarzanZwee dap, zwee doooo
  • Fantasia 2000
  • Dinosaur
  • The Emperor’s New Groove – pretty sure I watched this in the cinema when it came out
  • Atlantis: The Lost Empire – 02.12.2010

…and I’ll stop the list there ’cause the rest of the movies are pretty recent.

Update 24.01.2010: Watched The Beauty And The Beast with the girls when we hung out for Amry’s birthday. I liked it, and I thought it was amazing that the lesson I learnt from it matched what Pastor Jim taught at church that morning.

Update 03.02.2010: On Sunday, I rented 5 Disney movies. I’ll be watching them all this week before next Sunday when I have to return them.

Update 01.12.2010: Last Thursday my sister and I rented 10 weekly movies for $10, which included Pocahontas II: Journey to a New World and Atlantis. I was totally looking forward to crossing Pocahontas II but didn’t realise it was a straight-to-video movie. >_> Waste of a dollar; could’ve rented Balto instead (which, by the way, isn’t a Disney movie). Planning to watch Atlantis today since I have to return it tomorrow.

Update 02.12.2010: Just watched Atlantis. Boy, I wish I had watched that at the cinemas as a kid. I remember I used to collect Disney Adventures magazines as a kid and one particular issue revolved around the movie. IT MADE ME WANT TO WATCH IT SO BAD.

Updated 03.12.2010: Crossed off a few movies that I know I watched but for some reason forgot to cross them off.

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney