Welcome to the world, Anastasia!

by Danica

In my opinion, this news is more important than anything happening in my life right now, and I must admit, I’m pretty psyched about welcoming the first GFRESH baby into the world, Anastasia Fuertes.

anastasia2She was born yesterday, August 9th 2009 at 12:10 PM, weighing 3.115 kg (or 31.15 grams, according to heidlesz =P). In my eyes, she is clearly exhibiting features of both of her parents, and I don’t usually see parental resemblance till it’s pretty darn obvious.

Ally was sitting next to me in church yesterday and suddenly whispered to me that Faith had gone into labour that morning, and that was why the couple weren’t at church. If you weren’t at church yesterday, you could only imagine the excitement that went through GFRESH once we had all heard the news.

I went to the hospital with my family that night to visit Faith, Daz and Anastasia, only to be made to wait because Faith was breastfeeding at the time. But, we finally got to see Anastasia, and she is the tiniest, precious bundle that I have seen in a while.

anastasia1My mum is holding her in this photo. All the [older, more experienced] mums [who have teenage kids] that were there kept telling us youths that we shouldn’t touch her yet because of our germs. It didn’t matter though, ’cause over the next few years, we are going to turn into the most over-protective Ohana EVER.

Anyway, I just wanted to show her off. Sorry for the tiny thumbnails, but if you click on the images, you’ll see them much bigger.

I love you Anastasia. I can’t wait to see what you’ll grow up to be, and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for you. Love, Tita Danica (OMG, that makes me sound so old (Tita means Aunt in Tagalog/Filipino)).

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney

[UPDATE 11.01.2012] Updated the link from Ally’s name to go to her Twitter instead of her now non-existent WordPress blog. [/UPDATE]