A little something about the label that was bestowed upon me following my departure from the womb*

by Danica

The label that was bestowed upon me following my departure from the womb is Danica. Danica Mariel to be exact (hey, you people who haven’t done my Facebook quiz; I just gave you a heads up). I don’t know why my parents gave me that name. Even they don’t know why. The combination of ‘Danica’ and ‘Mariel’ just sounded good to them (I’ve asked them, that’s what they said).

Now that I’ve been stuck with that epithet for almost 20 years, I wouldn’t have it any other way. It rolls right off my tongue like the waves roll off the shore back into the ocean.

But have you ever wondered what your name actually means? I haven’t, but I’ve thought about the definition of mine.

We actually have a book here at home appropriately titled What Shall We Name The Baby? It alphabetically lists many names, for boys and girls. Next to each name you’ll find its origin, its ‘sex’ (as in, whether the name itself is a feminine or masculine name), its meaning and a list of diminutives (other versions of that name**).

I found the book very handy when I wanted to name my teddy bears and other stuffed toys, but now I don’t even remember the names I gave any of them. Only one. The Forever Friends bear that Zaimon gave to me for my 16th birthday. I named him Alvar. I can’t remember what that means, but whatever it means has something to do with the bear’s appearance.

In that book I found the definition of my name. ‘Danica’ meant ‘morning star’ and ‘Mariel’ …well, it wasn’t in the book. Actually, it appeared there as a diminutive of ‘Mary’, which had two different meanings and many different origins. The Hebrew definition said ‘bitter’. Me, bitter? Pssh (taste me, I’m salty). So, since ‘Danica’ was of Slavonic origin, I went with the Slavonic definition of ‘Mary’, or ‘Mariel’, which was ‘star of the sea’. Not only did it sound a whole lot nicer, but my entire name originated from the same place AND they both involved stars.

Danica Mariel = morning star of the sea. Brilliant, no? I r so clever😛

My good friend Daz did a little research and wrote (typed) this on my Facebook wall:

Danica
Language/Cultural Origin: Slavic
Inherent Meaning: Morning Star
Spiritual Connotation: Attentive
Scripture: 2 Peter 1:19 NRSV
“You will do well to be attentive to this as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star rises in your hearts.”
(NIV, KJV)

I had no idea that that verse was associated with my name in any way. I knew the phrase ‘morning star’ was in the Bible; Jesus had actually been called the Morning Star in Revelation 22:16, and Isaiah 14 is about a morning star that spoke about “rais[ing] my throne above the stars of God” but was “brought down to the grave, to the depths of the pit”. I assumed that was Lucifer/Satan.

I have no clue what 2 Peter 1:19 means, though. I’m going to have to do a little bit of meditating and praying and thinking and analysing.

But anyway, there was no particular reason for me to blab about my name and everything. I just wanted to😛

Oh hey, I’m going to be watching State of Origin game 2 LIVE. IN PERSON. Like, I’ll be there at ANZ Stadium squinting my eyes at the tiny little footy players metres away from me. I’m excited for it. Like, so excited that if possible, I may get my face painted in blue just to show my support for the Blues. The New South Welsh team deserve this win, seriously. If they lose, I will cry over the money I wasted to watch them lose when I could’ve watched them lose for free in the comfort of my own living room.

Update: On UrbanDictionary.com, everyone’s name has a cool or weird definition. Not mine. I just got whatever I already wrote here >_> But it does say that I’m the sun’s younger sister. The third “definition” down is a “cool” one, but I’m not ginger, nor am I Californian.

– “Keep moving forward.” – Walt Disney

 
– –

* I wanted all of my really long (and slightly witty) title to be in the url for this particular post, but I decided that’d be really immature of me. So I shortened it to just “A little something”. *Sulks*
** Eg. Diminutives of William not only include Will and Willie, but also Willem, Willhelmus, Willi, Williams, Williamson, Willie, Willis, Willkie, Wills, Willson, Willy, Wilmer, Wilmot, Wilmott, Wilson, Wim, Wilkinson, Wilkie, Wilkes, Wilhelmus, Wilhelm, Wiley, Wilek, Vilhelm, Villem, Liam, Guillermo, Guillaume, Guglielmo, Bill, Bille, Billie and Billy. (Yahoo answers) You learn something new every day.

 
[UPDATE 01.12.2010] A couple weeks ago, I was discussing the definition of my name with Jane for some reason. I did a little research as to what ‘morning star’ means, and I wrote this on her Facebook wall when I found something:

I looked up “morning star” and according to Greek mythology and Biblical literature, it means “dawn-bearer” and “lightbringer”. I’m not a morning person or a sanguine. My name must have some other meaning/s.

[/UPDATE]