Comments, Jeans and Scarves

by Danica

I’m finally starting to get the hang of WordPress, and there’s this thing called a “Dashboard” that basically tells you everything that’s going on. The dashboard of your car tells you your speed, the time, the radio station you’re listening to, the volume of the stereo, how much gas you have left, etc. The dashboard of WordPress tells me how many posts I have, how many comments I’ve received, how many times my blog has been viewed, the recent posts I’ve made, the recent comments I may have made on other blogs, blah blah blah.

So I logged on to wp.com to post a new blog and clicked on Dashboard in the task bar to eventually realise that I could’ve just clicked New Post right next to it, instead of going the long way as I was doing. But while I was on the Dashboard, I decided to have a look.

WordPress provides me with my blog stats – number of views per blog. And this is what I found: My most popular blog is Moving forward, with 43 views. How many comments do I have? Two. My second most popular blog was I’m still alive. I think with 19 views. Comments? Zero. Next popular? Opening up, which was my first real blog, and has 12 views and no comments.

What’s the point of me stating these facts? I thought I had like, 5 readers, 8 at the most. So, either my blogs are so good to read that my handful of readers keep coming back to them, or my blogs have been read by more people than I thought.

Why should this matter? Because I thought no one was reading my blogs. Views don’t matter to me, it’s just a number. I tried to make a pageview count on another site jump from 999 to 1000 by refreshing the page over and over, and then going back to the page later on in the day, but the following day I went to the site and it said 1001. It really pissed me off, and since then, I ignore counters. But if WordPress is telling me I’ve got so many views, then why do I feel like no one’s reading?

It’s the comments I want. Comments make me smile. When I check my email inbox and the WordPress folder has emails in it, I know I have comments. But that folder is always empty. I’ve only received 2 comments on my blog in total, and then people have commented me on Facebook and said things on MSN about how much they enjoy my blog or whatever.

Now, I feel like I’m going round in circles, and that I’m not actually getting to the point that I wanted to make. My point: comment me.

On a funnier note (or at least, people thought it was funny), I talked to my jeans this morning. I found a pair of jeans in my wardrobe that I hadn’t worn in 4 years. Last time I wore them, I was still going to Bethel. And I was scared of eating. So I was a lot thinner than I am now, and a lot thinner than what my anorexic brain was telling me (I wasn’t anorexic, I just thought I was too fat to be accepted by anyone).

I didn’t have any other jeans in my wardrobe that would go well with my ugg boots (which I so badly wanted to wear), so I pulled them out, sat on my bed and said to my jeans, “You better fit, damn you, or I’ll… throw you away.” That wouldn’t have been good for my jeans because they might become rags (denim doesn’t like to be turned into rags), and it wouldn’t have been good for me ’cause I wouldn’t have anything to wear to uni.

So after I gave my jeans an evil look, I slipped my legs into the openings, lay back on my bed, and pulled like heck. Turns out, I didn’t need to. They fit pretty darn well for jeans that fit me snugly during my no-eating-’cause-it’s-evil days.

In case anyone saw my status on Fb this morning, yes, this is the same event that I’m talking about now.

Hm.

Now scarves. I mentioned in a previous blog (not sure which one, but if you like, you can browse through them and tell me) that I wanted to make scarves. It’s getting closer and closer to June, the wind is blowing chillier than usual, and temperatures are maintaining a benchmark of 22 and lower.

I’m sure you don’t want to freeze in this weather, and I feel that my knitting skills are going to waste. I’ll be happy to make scarves for anyone – FOR FREE. I know how precious money is to you, especially during this “global recession,” so don’t worry, ’cause it won’t cost you a thing. Just let me know your preferences🙂

Just one more thing before I stop typing and I hit the books for my open book Stats exam tomorrow; Did you know that you can subscribe to my blog? The more people that do it, the less I have to advertise every time post a new one. If you use Windows, my knowledge on RSS is very limited. But I’ve found out enough to help out any potential subscribers.

Look at the top where it says Home | About | 100 Themes Challenge | RSS. Click on RSS and I’ll have info there about how to subscribe. A lot of info.

Update 12.12.09: I’ve since removed that page. All subscription info can now be found at the top of the page in the sidebar on the right.*

 
* [UPDATE 01.12.2010] The easiest way to subscribe to my blog is to subscribe to the email notifications. Scroll up to the top of the page and there will be a heading that says “Email subscription” down the right hand side.** [/UPDATE]

** [UPDATE 22.11.2011] Scroll down to below the comments section below this post. [/UPDATE]