Opening up

by Danica

This morning while on my way to uni, I was listening to my iPod (as usual), and the song I’d Come For You by Nickelback started playing. I absolutely love the lyrics to that song. Just now I watched the video clip for the first time, and I fell in love with the song even more.

I finally know what just what it means to let someone in
To see the side of me that no one does or ever will

Hearing those lyrics today reminded me of a particular comic that I liked:

The Devil's Panties - 01/29/2004
The Devil's Panties - 01/30/2004

I think it’s easy to see how those lyrics and those comics relate. In essence, they both talk about “opening yourself up” to people, which is one of the things that I try to accomplish in my blogs.

So anyway, I just thought I’d give a little insight into why I’ve called my blog “Baring my heart”. It was actually originally based on the idea of the comic, which I discovered in May of last year. Basically, when I blog, I share a lot of things that I wouldn’t go around proclaiming to the whole world. Sure, anyone can read my blog – it’s online – but I’m not one of those people who prides themselves in the number of tweets they can post in a day, or one of those people who declare their every action through their MSN names or personal messages (I despise those people, but I’m not hating on anyone in particular. Just making a general statement).

Like I said in my first blog, I don’t share my innermost thoughts in my blogs. Sometimes, I do, but in very subtle ways. The point is, I’m taking a risk. People can be very harsh and judgemental, sometimes without even trying. I’m putting my heart on the line in doing this, and anyone with negative thoughts should keep to themselves. I don’t understand people who have the need to constantly tweet, or update their Facebook status, or have conversations with people via MySpace bulletin, and then wonder why people know some of their personal secrets. It’s great you’re opening up, but could you do it somewhere else?

This is why I have a blog.

– –

“All I am is for you, from me
I’d give it away so easily
Never stopped to look at what’s behind”
For You From Me by Jon McLaughlin

 
[UPDATE 29.10.2010] Fixed the outward links of the images. [/UPDATE]
[UPDATE 17.11.2011] I don’t know if the links on the comic site have changed again (I can’t be bothered to check), but hover your mouse over each image and the date of the original comic posting will appear and you can search the comic site for that date. [/UPDATE]

 

