Hello WordPress!

by Danica

April 13th 2009. My first WordPress blog entry. Mind you, this isn’t my first ever blog entry. I’ve been blogging on my MySpace* for over a year now, but seeing as MySpace has become dead and Facebook has become the number 1 social networking site, I hardly have reason to check my MySpace anymore.

I’ve given it much thought, and I’m still not sure whether to delete my MySpace account. I don’t use it as much as I used to, and the blogs I post there don’t get read by anyone (I have like, 4 readers at the most). But I’ve just discovered that here on WordPress, you can set the date and times of the blogs you post. Meaning, if I wanted it to appear to anyone that I had written a blog on April 15th 2008 at 1:30 pm, I could type it up right now and you wouldn’t even know the difference. But, as much as I’d like my old MySpace blog posts to be read (as I intended them to be), I’m not going to do that. Instead, I’m thinking of copying over some of the “important and meaningful” blogs here, in the future, just so I can give them the attention they deserve.

I’m not sure what to talk about in a first blog. I don’t even know what I talked about in my first MySpace blog (you could go and check, but the first one there isn’t the first one I posted – I deleted the original first blog). Apparently, a blog is just an online journal. But I’ve never really been good at keeping journals. Plus, journals are for sharing private thoughts, and I’m not going to share my innermost thoughts with the whole world. I guess what I use a blog for is to share the thoughts that are worth sharing, for example, what I think of the Global Economic Recession. I’m not going to go into that – it’s not something that I think is worthy of my blog site.

What I like about WordPress is that you don’t need to have any particular account to view someone’s blog or to comment on it. All you need is an email address, a keyboard, and the internet. If you’re reading this, it’s more than likely you’ve got a keyboard and the internet. And the email address doesn’t even have to be real (but please, don’t put a fake one). I looked at a few other blogging sites before joining this one, and one in particular was Blogger, or Blogspot. It’s run by Google, and from what I discovered, to comment you need to have a Google Account, a LiveJournal, a WordPress, TypePad, AIM or OpenID account. I think WordPress is just easier for outsiders =) So feel free to comment.

So here I am, rambling on, making any readers bored as anything. I highly doubt my writing is any good, let alone entertaining. I guess, all I want to do here right now is say hello to WordPress. Let’s hope that, in comparison to other blogging sites, WordPress doesn’t die out.

And just before I go, here’s a link that I want to share with whoever may be reading this blog. It’s up on my wall right next to my bed, and it makes me smile every time I read it.

 
* This originally linked to my Myspace page. It now links to a page here on my blog that showcases all the blogs that I had on Myspace.